The Lost Rainforest #2: Gogi’s Gambit (Paperback)

The Lost Rainforest #2: Gogi’s Gambit By Eliot Schrefer, Emilia Dziubak (Illustrator) Cover Image

The Lost Rainforest #2: Gogi’s Gambit (Paperback)

By Eliot Schrefer, Emilia Dziubak (Illustrator)

$7.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Feb 20 10:03am

The second book in New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer’s Lost Rainforest series will thrill fans of Warriors and Spirit Animals with action and humor as the shadowwalkers battle to save their magical rainforest home.

Caldera always existed in harmony between the creatures who walk by day and those who walk by night—until an ancient evil awakened. In the year since the shadowwalkers’ narrow escape from the Ant Queen, the ants’ destruction has only spread.

Gogi, a shadowwalker monkey still learning to wield his fire powers, embarks on a quest with his friends—including a healing bat, an invisible panther, and a tree frog who controls the winds—for a powerful object that can harness the magic of the eclipse to defeat the Ant Queen.

But with just weeks before the next eclipse, Gogi must race to prove that he can control the mighty depths of his talent if he is to protect his friends, save the rainforest, and return home unsinged.

Eliot Schrefer is a New York Times bestselling author and has twice been a finalist for the National Book Award in Young People’s Literature. His other awards include a Printz Honor, a Stonewall Honor, and the Green Earth Book Award. He is also the author of Charming Young Man, The Darkness Outside Us, Endangered, and Queer Ducks (and Other Animals): The Natural World of Animal Sexuality. He lives with his husband in New York City and is on the faculty of the Hamline University MFA in writing for children and young adults. Visit him online at eliotschrefer.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780062491152
ISBN-10: 0062491156
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: December 10th, 2019
Pages: 368
Language: English

★ “The second installment in this fast-paced fantasy is enhanced by the richly detailed rainforest setting... a tale about how to celebrate differences and still find unity. Another knockout in a series that will appeal to nature lovers, animal lovers, and fans of magical adventure.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★“Schrefer’s second book in the Lost Rainforest series continues the enthralling fantasy adventures of this eclectic group of animals and hints at where the next threat to the rain forest will come from. Fans of Mez’s Magic and Katherine Applegate’s Endling #1: The Last (2018) will eagerly devour Gogi’s Gambit.” — Booklist (starred review)

PRAISE FOR MEZ’S MAGIC: “Unlike anything I’ve read. Eliot Schrefer has mined the richness and depths of his setting to find a deeper magic, immersing us in a world that is at once complex, dangerous, beautiful, and ultimately demanding of our protection. A thrilling start to an exceptional new series.” — Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of the School for Good and Evil series 

★ “While the story is pure fast-paced fantasy, the underlying issues are real. Ignorance among the species, racism, and intolerance of differences are rampant. An author’s note highlights the beauty and importance of the rainforest. Magic with depth in this new series stunner.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Just right for middle grade readers who want an engrossing fantasy adventure.” — School Library Journal

“With a memorable, quick-bantering cast, this kickoff to the Lost Rainforest series, a playful departure from Schrefer’s ape novels, brings fresh perspective to the magical animal subgenre. And, despite the fantasy setup, readers will come away learning quite a bit about this ecosystem and its inhabitants.” — Publishers Weekly

Mez’s Magic is packed with as many jokes as fast-paced fight scenes. And Schrefer has created a stock of memorable characters—including Gogi, a monkey with self-esteem issues; Rumi, a delightfully urbane tree frog; and a manic, pixie-dream bat named Lima.” — New York Times Book Review



ABC Catalog

ABC catalog block image